The Storm.

With forecasters predicting that the first major winter storm was going to hit on Saturday, I had no real expectations of surfing this weekend.  I woke up on Saturday to overcast, drizzly skies and wind, so didn’t even bother to head down to the beach for a surf check.  It was a sleep-in, late breakfast kind of morning anyhow, so I knew I wasn’t going to be surfing. Saturday night I went to bed thinking that “the storm” was going to be hitting by morning, so again, had no expectations of getting up to surf. But when I woke up on Sunday morning and saw sunny skies with no wind, I thought maybe it was worth a look-see. I had no true expectations of paddling out, but decided to go down to the beach for a surf check anyhow.  I went straight out front, and when I got to the beach, well, it was good.  The waves were in the waist to chest high zone with sets up to about head high, and shape was good.  It was very slow and mushy on the high tide which made catching the waves quite challenging, but once you were in one, they had some fun shoulders to work with.  I didn’t get a ton of waves, but enough to call the session decent.  I’m just really glad that I managed to get a session in after all because now “the storm” is truly here and I seriously doubt there will be any surfing this week.

3 Responses to The Storm.

  1. whiffleboy says:

    I was soooo bummed Sunday morning when I slept in and checked the cams around 8:30am to find relatively decent conditions and it being (in my opinion) too late to attempt a paddle out due to the tide. 😦 I totally missed out. Glad you got some though.

  2. yeah. me too. wish i had a bigger board for the mushy waves, but still got a few fun ones. felt good to just get out there and paddle…and the water still wasn’t too cold. Not epic but decent…Next weekend should be epic. Epic I Say!!!

  3. Lettie says:

    You’re so awesome! I do not think I’ve read through something like that before.
    So great to discover someone with some original thoughts on this issue.
    Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This web site is one
    thing that is required on the internet, someone
    with a little originality!

Leave a Reply

