Avoiding temptation.

Looks like it is going to be a golden weekend for surf. Weather is spectacular, some swell is in the forecast and there should be some good offshore winds as well.  Could be epic.  Unfortunately, I still can’t paddle out because of the tattoo (it is in the scab and peel phase of healing), so rather than torture myself, I am heading out of town for the weekend. I figure if I put enough distance between me and the ocean, then I’ll avoid the temptation to paddle out. I remember a few years ago when I had just got a tattoo, I was skating along the boardwalk in the morning and Venice was going off….one of those rare, perfect, peaky, offshore days that Venice sees only a few times a year.  I ended up skating home and grabbing my board to paddle out even though it was still too soon after getting the tattoo.  I just couldn’t pass it up. Fortunately, the tattoo healed without incident, but I don’t want to risk it.

Sad to miss surf this weekend, but there will always be more waves.

Leave a Reply

