Venice may just be the death of my blog.

I am finding it very difficult to get inspired to post about the Venice Surf Report here on this blog because it just is so…well….lamesauce. Even though I knew it wouldn’t be very good this morning, I decided to meet up with nerd #1 for an early morning paddle out, and it was about as bad as it gets. Onshore winds, 1 -3 foot crapness of waves with zeeeeroooo shape, and a sucking out to low tide drain. Uuuughhhh. I feel like such a broken record these days. Fuck it. I’m moving to San Diego. This place is going to be the death of me and my blog pretty soon unless I switch up the premise to thoughts on mind-altering drugs or some other more inspiring topic.

4 Responses to Venice may just be the death of my blog.

  1. Christian says:

    I hear you. Surfing in L.A. is mediocre at best. If you think about it, there are 5 spots in a 25 mile or so stretch. Malibu-Topanga-Sunset-Bay Street-Venice. That’s very below average. In SD you can’t throw a rock without hitting a peaky beach break or nice little reef.

    Onshore dawn patrol. That is ass.

  2. whiffleboy says:

    Word, Christian. San Diego County is continuous surf from Oceanside to Point Loma. Yes, we have Malibu which is world-class, but, with 4 million people within 30 minutes of the place, it ain’t exactly all THAT! 🙂

    This morning’s DP at the Pier was sad, sad, sad.

  3. So??? Has it come to this? Maybe we can buy one of those big glass houses on the cliffs over Blacks. Blacks is always just about perfect.

  4. Whiffleboy says:

    Shit, I’d take Ponto or any other place over what we have to work with. We surf in Poor+ conditions on a daily basis (unless we’re at a premiere spot). Those folks down there don’t know how good they have it. Not that I give a rat’s ass about professional surfing, but, you gotta look at how many pro surfers there are from L.A.. There’s a reason for the lack of representation.

Leave a Reply

