Happy 100

I am proud to announce that this is the 100th post on my blog, at least according to my blog stats. I love blog stats. I am now averaging about 50 hits a day with the best day ever peaking at 79 views. Watch out Perez, I’m coming up. Speaking of blogging, I met up this weekend with fellow blogger and rabid snowboarder, Erica, from snowboard-women.com. She fit me in for a coffee on Saturday for this one weekend she was in town in between all of her fabulous trips to Whistler, Vail, Mammoth, etc. One of the things we chatted about was the incredibly positive experience we’ve had from blogging – the online presence that gets established, the reader feedback, and cool social community that grows out of it. We strolled down to ZJ Boarding House near my apartment to do a little shopping and check out their gear. I had to pick up a new travel bag for my upcoming weekend to Tahoe, and she had never been to ZJ’s. I used to think that ZJ’s was the pinnacle of board shops, but it doesn’t impress me at all any more. They seem to have really fallen behind in terms of customer service and product knowledge, but boy do they seem to do great business. I guess if you’ve been around as long as they have, it’s just a given.

On the surfy front, I survived my nomats session on Saturday without succumbing to any major bacterial ramifications. Once again, the good news is that I was able to paddle pain-free. Once again, the bad news is I suck. That’s all I really have to say about that. Surf was solid on Sunday morning at the pier, but I didn’t paddle out. There were a bunch of guys killing it, though, including Alan Sarlo, Ron Jay, Scott Anderson, Jim Muir and all the other legendary Venice dudes. Fun to watch. It got really big in the afternoon. I heard Sunset was double overhead.

Gonna try to fit in a morning session this week before leaving town for Tahoe. I have to get more consistent with my go-outs if I’m ever going to get back in shape.

3 Responses to Happy 100

  1. snowboardwomen says:

    It was fun meeting up! Funny, I just finished my recap of our meeting too 😉

    I love that you said I “fit you in” between trips. ha ha ha! Admittedly, I guess this was one of the few weekends where i wasn’t out snowboarding. Wish I hit one of the locals though, they got a dumping all around… talk to ya soon and I’m glad to hear you didn’t get sick from your Saturday outing!

  2. Snowboard Shop Review: ZJ Boarding House; plus, coffee with Christina

    First let me start off by saying that this outing began as a coffee meeting with Christina from the VeniceSurferGirl blog. We met through reading & commenting on each others’ blogs! (See, good things CAN come out of the internets, it’…

  3. Christian says:

    I got some great footage of Topanga on Sunday. Sunset was kind of blech. On a heavy west, the current pretty much makes that point a mess.

    I agree with you about ZJ’s. It’s not the place to go if you are knowledgeable aboput surfing and boards. I think they pretty much want to sell funboards to tourists and MR twinnies to wealthier Santa Monica residents.

    Glad your shoulder is feeling great!

Leave a Reply

