No paddling this weekend

So I chickened out. I did not paddle out this weekend after all. I met Annika at the pier bright and early on Saturday morning and it was cold. Really cold. There was a stiff offshore breeze blowing and the high tide swamped everything rolling in, causing the waves to break right on shore, not that that mattered to me since I was only “paddling”. We stood around for about 1/2 an hour and watched, and we were both very uninspired. I told a couple of other people hanging out and waiting to see if the conditions improved as the tide turned that I was thinking of paddling out, and when they heard it had only been 7 weeks since surgery, they were like, “No, don’t risk it. It’s too soon. It’s not worth it.” I then proceeded to talk myself out of it. It had less to do, however, with the act of paddling. That, I was certain, wouldn’t be a problem. It had more to do with getting into, and more specifically, out of the wetsuit that I was afraid of. Frozen clawed hands grabbing at thick, difficult to maneuver neoprene was what sealed the deal for me. I did not want to wreck my new shoulder by trying to pull my way out of my 4/3mm wetsuit with frozen hands. And Annika was not inspired at all to paddle out either. So instead, we went to breakfast for a big chow down.

Gametime decision and I just didn’t feel up to it. (Neither did my man, LT).

At least for me, there is always next weekend…

2 Responses to No paddling this weekend

  1. christian says:

    What’s your PT say about paddling?

  2. Both PT and doctor say I’m cleared to try moderate paddling, just be very careful not to overdo it. 30 minutes max. I’ve been doing push ups and full body holds in PT, and while I am not entirely pain free, I would say I’m about 80% there…and already far better than I was pre-surgery. My range of motions is very good. I just still have scar tissue and surgery trauma that are healing. The pain is in the area of where the two incisions are, not in the actual rotator cuff. By 12 weeks I should be totally healed. PT says that for most patients, it’s getting the range of motion back that is the most difficult, and that I have excellent range of motion for 7 weeks post surgery.

    Now, on the other hand, it is totally about my confidence and mentally feeling like I can do it. THAT is the hurdle.

Leave a Reply

