Have to get wet…

So I’ve now been out of the water for seven weeks in an effort to heal my torn rotator cuff injury from last summer. However, I cannot stand being out of the water, especially since everyone keeps saying how warm it is (the last time I surfed, I was still wearing a full suit), so I’ve convinced myself that I can safely get away with body boarding this weekend. I know, I know. It’s not a sideways sport, so it defies my self-identity, but I need to get in the water. I’ve rationalized that as long as I only kick and do not under any circumstance use my arms to paddle, well then I should be fine. The reality is, of course, I will probably have to do some paddling, and just holding onto the body board to steer it into the face of the wave will add some strain to my shoulder. As a good friend likes to say, “denial is not just a river in Egypt.”

I’m going to try to limit staying in the water for a short period of time, and I may be doing myself (yet again) a big disservice in my efforts to heal my injury, but for some insane reason, I keep putting “my hand in the fire” thinking maybe this time I won’t get burned. When will I learn?  We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

